Daybreak Rotary Gives Back

How We Make a Difference

Each year Daybreak Rotary grants tens of thousands of dollars to nonprofit organizations in our community and causes around the world.


Apply for Funds- Jon Cushing Sunshine Fund Grant Application

Since 2012, we also have dedicated a portion of the proceeds from our club's largest fundraiser, the Great Eastern Iowa Duck Race, to the Jon Cushing Sunshine Fund. The Jon Cushing Sunshine Fund provides seed money and grants to a host of local programs focused on the needs of children and youth.  Organizations interested in applying for a grant from our organization should complete this application


Inspiring College Dreams:  Legacy of Learning

Since 2003 Daybreak Rotary has managed a fund through the Greater Cedar Rapids Community Foundation that's designed to get young people to think about college and post-high school training while they were still quite young. Students are honored as “Legacy for Learning” scholarship recipients at their fifth grade graduation, with a promise of scholarship support after high school graduation. Since 2014, seven students have been supported with scholarships. This scholarship initially supported Polk Elementary students, and since that school's closing, Daybreak leaders have worked with school faculty at Arthur, Garfield and Johnson STEAM Academy elementary schools, to choose one student per year as Legacy for Learning candidates.


Support Daybreak Rotary with the Great Eastern Iowa Duck Race

If you'd like to help us raise funds to support worthy nonprofit organizations, consider supporting our biggest fundraiser- the Great Eastern Iowa Duck Race. This fundraiser has been part of the Daybreak Rotary tradition since 2007 when our club decided to revive a fun tradition that had been a part of Cedar Rapids summers in the 1980s and 90s: a duck race.  Since its inception this fundraiser has helped Daybreak Rotary grant more than $600,000 to beneficiaries including the Boys and Girls Clubs of Cedar Rapids, Big Brothers Big Sisters, Kids First Law Center, Youthport, Foundation 2, ESNA and Four Oaks


Recognizing Service Above Self

The Daybreak Rotary Public Service Award recognizes someone in our community who goes “above and beyond” in giving of themselves, unselfishly, either through their vocation and/or their volunteer efforts.  We especially encourage nominations of individuals who have used their career and professional position to bring about good for our community.

You can nominate someone for this award here.

Past Award Winners

1996 – Mary Hynek, Director of Camp Wapsi Y

1997 – Mary Schoen Clark, Director of MAHP   

1998 – Betty Johnson, Executive Director, SAFE Coalition

1999 – Bob Carson, Volunteer, United Way, Boy Scouts, Red Cross

2000 – Mary Lou Erlacher, The Workplace Learning Connection

2001 – Gayle Glick, International Advisor, Kirkwood Comm. College

2002 – Bob Kucharski, Alliant Energy (retired)

2003 – Helen Arnold-Olson, Long-time Community Activist

2004 – Mike Klappholz, Chief, Cedar Rapids Police Department

2005 – Steve Ovel, Exec. Dir. Gov’t Relations, Kirkwood Comm. College

2006 – Bob Buntz, President & CEO, Horizons

2007 – Bill Quimby, Ret. Professional NFL Umpire/community activist

2008 – Charles Daugherty, Sr., Serve The City